ChevelleForum.net

Go Back   Chevrolet Chevelle Forums > Chevrolet Chevelle Garage > Restoration by the numbers

Old 02-24-2011, 02:14 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to Joker2017
Default 1968 Malibu

Hi, new here to the site. Just bought my first Chevelle. I have been dreaming of owning one since I was a kid. I finally bought one! I am a long time shade tree mechanic with minimal automotive schooling. I worked as a mechanic for two years before joining the military! Been in for 13 years and thanks to Uncle Sam I now have my Chevelle.
It will be a complete restore (not nessesarily to stock) I have already stripped the nasty yellow paint job. I am down to bare metal and can now start repairing rust spots and holes. I am doing everything in my garage. When I complete the filler work (until I can afford new panels/patches) I plan to prime it. Is there any problem priming with spray cans? For now it will stay in primer for no more than a year before I replace the fenders and use patch panels on the quarters. I am looking to get it so that I can enjoy it (drive) until the day comes to but the panels.
Being my first project I am sure many questions are to come. Thanks for an amazing site for Chevelle lovers like myself!
Old 02-24-2011, 02:34 PM

Rattle can primer will work but keep in mind that primer will not prevent rust. Unlike the top coat, primer is porous and will allow moisture through to the metal.

70 Chevelle SS396(454), M20, 3.73
My Chevelle
Old 02-24-2011, 02:41 PM

So here is my next question, would it be better to throw a rattle can coat of basic auto paint on there after the primer to hold me over until I am ready for high $$$ paint? My final goal is to replace all metal needed. Then I am hoping to do a decent home paint job myself. Again, I am in the military and we don't get paid well, so I am doing this all on a very tight budget. I am in no hurry for the final product but want to enjoy iy in the meantime as well.
Old 02-24-2011, 03:57 PM