ChevelleForum.net

Go Back   Chevrolet Chevelle Forums > Chevrolet Chevelle Performance > Chevelle Drag Racing

Old 01-25-2010, 12:56 AM

Default if youd like a little advise on building a combo...

im not a professional car builder but ive made mine to run deep in the 8s at over 155 mph-but if any questions i can help with feel free to pm me or post and if i can i will offer advice...granted other web sites have proffesional engine and tranny guys that do this for a living,(sherman,mamo,chance,etc...) i know bbc stuff a little better,but like i said i will help on combos...
Old 01-27-2010, 11:06 AM

I'll be hitting you up for some advice in about month Russ, and well then probably all summer too. We'll be heading down to the Grove a few times this year again, we will have to hook up and chat.

Jeff
2006 Cadillac CTS-V LS2 and a 6 speed
Old 01-27-2010, 11:17 AM
Administrator Bowtie Member

I would like to know what you think of the motor combo we choose for our 72. Thanks
Old 01-29-2010, 12:27 AM

looks like a torquey lil small block...what cubes and operating rpms u wanna spin in>??? also is it gonna see nitrous? i dont know what compression will be but looks like youll have fun!!! motor running yet>?

Last edited by russ67chevelle; 01-29-2010 at 12:37 AM.
Old 01-29-2010, 08:30 AM
Administrator Bowtie Member

It should stay under 5300 with the hyd roller cam. Comp should be about 9.8

Not planning on any nitrous but maybe down the line a porting job may be in order.

Was considering a 770 avenger carb but the consensus is the 650 dbl pumper should be fine. Any thoughts on that ? Thanks
Old 02-03-2010, 12:02 AM

what cubes? i may of missed it-if so sorry....also good heads are a prerequisite for good nitrous results...especially good exhaust side,typically a cam that is nitrous friendly will have a lil more exhaust duration and or lift than a n.a. exhaust...