ChevelleForum.net

Go Back   Chevrolet Chevelle Forums > Chevrolet Chevelle Garage > Chevelle Maintenance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2017, 09:17 PM
2008srx 2008srx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Default another fuel gauge issue

first post for me, put in new gauge on a '69, and new sending unit. Fuel gauge reads below empty, When i disconnect sending wire in trunk, gauge go's to like 1/4 full only. when i ground the wire, it go's to way past empty. Anyone have any ideas? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2017, 12:55 AM
chevymaher's Avatar
chevymaher chevymaher is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,182
Default

Is the ground wire good not dirty?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2017, 10:38 AM
2008srx 2008srx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Default

yes, tank and ground wire are new. just did an ohm check from ground wire to connector in trunk. only got a reading of 1.4 with 4 gals of gas, thinking it should have been like 18? i saw some posts where the sending unit is grounding out internally even though brand new?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2017, 11:02 AM
shadowgray396's Avatar
shadowgray396 shadowgray396 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Posts: 6,000
Default

At empty it read around 2 ohms, half full at 40, and full around 80 to 84 ohms. Did you do a ohms check of the sending unit before you put it on? Also if you do a search on here on fuel gauge there several right up about it
__________________
Ray
1970 SS Chevelle Van Nuys Built
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2017, 11:46 AM
chevymaher's Avatar
chevymaher chevymaher is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008srx View Post
yes, tank and ground wire are new. just did an ohm check from ground wire to connector in trunk. only got a reading of 1.4 with 4 gals of gas, thinking it should have been like 18? i saw some posts where the sending unit is grounding out internally even though brand new?
It is grounded to the pickup unit that slides into the tank. And that is grounded to the body. So another check is body to battery. Is that grounded?. My car had 3 factory and has 6 now, I tend to be overkill on that stuff.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Audiokarma.org