ChevelleForum.net

Go Back   Chevrolet Chevelle Forums > Chevrolet Chevelle Garage > Chevelle Maintenance

Old 04-03-2010, 06:40 PM

Default fuel

Hey guys i am new at this. I just got a 70 454 chevelle and I am trying to research whats best to use on fuel. I heard use the most expensive and others say it doesnt matter. What do you guys use?
Old 04-03-2010, 06:50 PM

As far as brand there isn't that much difference, often they come from the same tanks at the distribution center. Some do put in different additives but the gas itself is the same.

When it comes to what octane rating, that's a different story. You haven't said anything about your engine so it's hard to say. Unless your 454 is a very low compression truck engine you probably want to run 93 octane. That will allow you to run your ignition timing advanced for better performance and fuel economy.

70 Chevelle SS396(454), M20, 3.73
My Chevelle
Old 04-03-2010, 07:05 PM

Thanks for the info. didnt think it was going to be this fast getting some info. I still have lots to learn on the motor and everything else in it. just trying to get ready with the info, like what type of synthetic oil etc......
Old 04-03-2010, 07:18 PM

Be careful with the oil, again it depends on the engine. If it doesn't have a roller cam then you need an oil with a higher ZDDP level to protect the cam. Today's cars all have roller cams and most oils don't have enough ZDDP to protect against cam failure.

Gather all the info you can on your engine and post it. GM made millions of 454's over 40 years and they're not all the same. What ever info you have can help us help you.

My Chevelle
Old 04-03-2010, 09:04 PM
Banned

I only run BP 93 in my car and there has not been a problem with the way it performs.
Old 04-03-2010, 11:00 PM

I merged your two threads into one here, so we can all see it together.